Fighting Paradoxes

fighter1

Fighting of any kind is a paradox.

A completely unnatural act. It forces you to think of things in the exact opposite manner. If you want your opponent to move left, you move right. If you want to punch with your left hand, you push off your right foot. It’s completely opposite to anything you will ever learn. Yet, we still do it. In every manner possible.

We fight for more time, more touch and more love knowing that there is only a finite number of minutes, only so often that the person you want can hold you and only rare occurrences that the person we love will ever love us back. We fight for these things every way we can knowing we can never have exactly what we want.

It got me to thinking of how the idea fit with all the patterns of my life and I stumbled upon something that has been around since 1968. These ideals speak to me in a way that I never thought possible.

The Paradoxical Commandments
by Dr. Kent M. Keith

People are illogical, unreasonable, and self-centered.
Love them anyway.

If you do good, people will accuse you of selfish ulterior motives.
Do good anyway.

If you are successful, you will win false friends and true enemies.
Succeed anyway.

The good you do today will be forgotten tomorrow.
Do good anyway.

Honesty and frankness make you vulnerable.
Be honest and frank anyway.

The biggest men and women with the biggest ideas can be shot down by the smallest men and women with the smallest minds.
Think big anyway.

People favor underdogs but follow only top dogs.
Fight for a few underdogs anyway.

What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight.
Build anyway.

People really need help but may attack you if you do help them.
Help people anyway.

Give the world the best you have and you’ll get kicked in the teeth.
Give the world the best you have anyway.

I look at this list of things and realize how many of them apply to me. To the last year of my life. To everything I am going through as I write this.

I have built relationships that have disappeared in the blink of an eye. I have loved people who could never love me back. I have opened myself to things that have shunned me. I have held my dream come true in my bare hands and watched it disappear. I have taken literal punches in the face and stood standing.

I have lost every reason to dream or hope and yet I still go to sleep every night praying for one more glimpse of something amazing.

I do these things because I am a fighter at heart.

I might be sitting on a stool in my corner with a heavy heart and a beaten body knowing what is waiting for me when I stand up but I assure you that when the bell rings I will come out swinging.

Maybe that’s unnatural to you. A mystery. A paradox. Something you would never do.

I’m a fighter. It’s the only thing I know how to be.

About Jack Chaser

Its hard to not look at this thing as an online dating profile so lets go with that theme. Hard working, athletic male seeks readers of all types. Intelligence not mandatory but a definite plus
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fighting Paradoxes

  1. It’s something I do every day, so I can relate. I will remain a fighter, because really, I can’t change my basic nature so I will embrace it.

Leave a Reply

